A traffic ticket can result in serious consequences for your driving record, your insurance rates and even your freedom. Before you pay the fine or accept any plea, you need to call my office to find out what your options are.
DUI/DWI: The penalties—including license suspension, fines, and possible jail time—for a first intoxicated driving conviction.
DUI Charges In Maryland
a). a driver will automatically face a DUI charge if his or her blood alcohol content registers at 0.08 or above, though a BAC as low as 0.05 could warrant a Driving While Impaired (DWI) charge at the discretion of the arresting officer.
b). DUIs involving alcohol carry the same general penalties as a DUI involving controlled substances. A first offense can result in up to one year of jail and a maximum $1,000 in fines. A offender who was transporting a minor passenger faces up to $2,000 for fines and a maximum two years in jail.
c). DWI offenses involving alcohol or drugs carry the same penalties in Maryland. The offender can serve a maximum two months in jail and have to pay a fine of up to $500. Where the driver was transporting minor passengers, the maximum penalties are $1,000 in fines and six months in jail.
Suspended License: Unlike other states, Maryland does not offer dismissal of points when you attend drivers education classes. You will, however, be required to complete this class if you accumulate 5-7 points within 2 years.
a). If you accumulate 3-4 points within 2 years, you will receive a warning notice. It’s a way that MVA gives you a heads-up that any more points will lead to more severe consequences.
b). If you accumulate 5-7 points within 2 years, you will be required to attend some sort of drivers education. These programs are offered by 3rd party vendors and their fees vary.
c). When you hit 8-11 points within 2 years, the MVA will start to question whether you are a danger to other motorist on the road. You will then receive a notice of suspension.
d). At the 12 point mark, you will receive a Notice of Revocation. You will then be asked to surrender your drivers license and reapply for a new license once the revocation period expires.